Bélanger, Gwenaël

Gwenaël Bélanger, Best of (partition no.4), 2008.

Lot: 

21
Best of (partition no.4)

The point of departure for Best of was the mythical image of Jimmy Hendrix smashing his guitar on stage in 1967. The rock singer who demolished his guitar in concert did so in a very particular context. The event and the instrument’s destruction were ­accompanied by a light show and an intensifying beat while ­concert-goers’ excitement reached a ­fever pitch. Here, the act is placed in an ­entirely ­different context by reconstructing as ­neutral a space as possible, detached from any affective connection with the show.

Tirage Lambda; Best of (video), DVD, 35 seconds in loop,
  • 2008; 2007
86 x 102 cm |
Edition 1/5; Edition 3/40

Estimate: 

$2,050

Gwenaël Bélanger was born in Rimouski in1975. He lives and works in Montréal. The attentive and critical observation of what figures as an image in our everyday life is the starting point of all of Bélanger’s projects. His process is above all characterized by a “tinkering” attitude, which consists of using graphic and photographic processes to toy with our perceptual limits of the real and its gray zones. He seeks to exploit the interaction between what we see and what we imagine, or what we remember, in various spheres of human activity. Like an anthropologist of images, Bélanger is interested as much in the mediated image as in the cultural object, both of which contain and convey connotations, denotations and references in order to create perceptual shifts and to deploy the machinations of the gaze. These are the beginnings of a creative space, of a construction site where assemblages, manipulations and transformations will be carried out by deceptively playing with the codes of media language. Finally, through his projects Bélanger seeks to question the status of the image— its production, transmission and reception—to test and challenge what one sees and perceives.

In Montreal, he has had solo shows at the Galerie de l'UQAM, Optica, Skol and Galerie Graff. He has also participated in several group exhibitions such as The Hidden Land at the Nettie Horn Gallery in London, UK (2009), Still Revolution at the Contact Photography Festival in Toronto (2009) and the Quebec Triennial at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2008).

Bélanger, Gwenaël

Gwenaël Bélanger, Best of (partition no.4), 2008.

Numéro de lot : 

21
Best of (partition no.4)

L’image mythique de Jimmy Hendrix qui fracasse sa guitare sur scène en 1967 a été le point de départ de l’œuvre Best of. Le musicien rock qui démolit son instrument en ­spectacle le fait dans un contexte bien précis. Cet ­événement est accompagné de jeux de lumière et d’une progression rythmique de la ­batterie coordonnée à la destruction de la guitare, alors qu’en même temps s’exprime une foule au ­paroxysme de la fête. Ce geste a été déplacé dans un contexte totalement différent en ­reconstituant un lieu le plus neutre possible, détaché des affects liés au spectacle.

Tirage Lambda; Best of (vidéo), DVD, 35 secondes en boucle,
  • 2008; 2007
86 x 102 cm |
Tirage 1/5; Édition 3/40

Valeur estimée : 

2 050 $

Gwenaël Bélanger est né à Rimouski en 1975. Il vit et travaille à Montréal. L’observation attentive et critique de ce qui fait image dans notre quotidien est le point de départ de tous les projets de Bélanger. Sa démarche se caractérise avant tout par une attitude « de bricoleur » qui consiste à jouer avec nos limites perceptuelles du réel et de ses zones grises à travers des procédés graphiques et photographiques. Il cherche à exploiter l’interaction entre ce que nous voyons et ce que nous imaginons, ou ce dont nous nous souvenons, et ce dans différentes activités humaines. Tel un anthropologue des images, Bélanger s’intéresse à l’image médiatisée autant qu’à l’objet culturel, lesquels portent et transportent connotations, dénotations et références, en vue de créer des glissements de perception et de mettre en place des machinations du regard. Ce sont les prémisses d’un espace de création, d’un chantier, où vont s’opérer des constructions, des manipulations et des transformations qui se jouent de manière fallacieuse des codes langagiers des médias. Enfin, Bélanger tente, par ses projets, de questionner le statut de l’image – sa production, sa transmission et sa réception –, de mettre à l’épreuve ce que l’on voit et perçoit.

À Montréal, ses œuvres ont été présentées en solo à la Galerie de l'UQAM, chez Optica, chez Skol et à la Galerie Graff. Il a également participé à plusieurs expositions collectives dont The Hidden Land à la Galerie Nettie Horn de Londres (2009), Still Revolution au Contact Photography Festival de Toronto (2009) et La Triennale québécoise au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2008).