BGL

BGL, Domaine de l'angle II, 2008.

Lot: 

12
Domaine de l'angle II

Taken during Toronto’s Nuit Blanche in 2008 by Toni Hafkenscheid. It is in fact an urban ­version of ‘Domaine de l’angle,’ a project ­initially constructed in a maple grove for Pierre Lapointe’s La forêt des mal-aimés. Domaine de l’angle II is a shot of an alley covered by a ­suspended ceiling along a 70-foot stretch.

Photograph, ink jet on paper,
  • 2008
81.5 x 122 cm

Estimate: 

$5,000

The Quebec City-based art collective BGL is known for installations that take over gallery and public spaces. Described as “cheeky, critical and explosive,” their works use humour and outrageousness to attract attention to social and political issues. Earlier installations have featured a taxidermied moose on a turnstile, and a Mercedes automobile on a faux lawn. They have created startling installations outdoors by combining interior materials with the natural world. The three artists, Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère and Nicolas Laverdière, began making a name for themselves after their 1996 graduation from Université Laval.

They have shown at the National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, Mercer Union and Koffler Gallery, Toronto, the Art Gallery of Alberta, Edmonton, the Royal Museum of Ontario, Toronto, the Canadian Cultural Centre, Paris, and the Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver. The group has also shown internationally in Argentina, Cuba, France, Luxembourg, Mexico and Poland. They participated in the Havana and Montreal Biennials, were nominated for the Sobey Art Award and had a solo exhibition at Diaz Contemporary, Toronto. As a collective, BGL has received numerous grants from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, and a Victor-Martyn-Lynch-Staunton Award.

BGL

BGL, Domaine de l'angle II, 2008.

Numéro de lot : 

12
Domaine de l'angle II

Prise lors de l’événement Nuit Blanche de ­Toronto en 2008 par Toni Hafkenscheid. Il s’agit en quelque sorte d’une version urbaine du projet Domaine de l’angle initialement ­construit dans une érablière pour l’album La forêt des mal‑­aimés de Pierre Lapointe. ­Domaine de ­l’angle II est une prise de vue d’une ruelle ­recouverte d’un plafond suspendu sur 70 pieds.

Photographie, jet d'encre sur papier,
  • 2008
81,5 x 122 cm

Valeur estimée : 

5 000 $

BGL, le collectif d’artistes de Québec, est connu pour ses installations qui prennent possession des lieux d’exposition et des espaces publics. Décrit comme étant « insolents, critiques et explosifs », leurs travaux ont recours à l’humour et à l’extravagance pour attirer l’attention sur des enjeux sociaux et politiques. Parmi leurs installations, mentionnons un orignal empaillé installé sur un tourniquet et une Mercedes sur une fausse pelouse. BGL a créé des installations saisissantes en combinant des matériaux utilisés à l’intérieur et le monde naturel. Les trois artistes, Jasmin Bilodeau, Sébastien Giguère et Nicolas Laverdière, ont commencé à se faire connaître à leur sortie de l’Université Laval en 1996.

Leur travail a été présenté au Musée national des beaux-arts du Canada à Ottawa, Mercer Union et la Koffler Gallery à Toronto, à l’Art Gallery of Alberta à Edmonton, au Royal Museum of Ontario à Toronto, au Centre culturel canadien à Paris et à la Contemporary Art Gallery à Vancouver. Le groupe a également participé à des expositions à l’étranger, soit en Argentine, à Cuba, en France, au Luxembourg, au Mexique et en Pologne. Il a fait partie des Biennales de La Havane et de Montréal, a été mis en nomination pour un Sobey Art Award et a présenté une exposition personnelle à Diaz Contemporary, Toronto. En tant que collectif, BGL a reçu de nombreuses bourses du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des Arts du Canada et un Prix Victor-Martyn-Lynch-Staunton.