Gaucher, Dominique

Dominique Gaucher, Because it's there 2, 2008.

Lot: 

22
Because it's there 2

Because it’s there is the only answer ­mountain climbers give to justify their useless quest. A vanishing point that literally disappears into the clouds, suggesting dissolution and loss of bearings. The intractable immensity is a ­perfect complement to solitude and loss. ­Perspectives are fragmentary, disrupted by plummeting depths, disrupting the ­spectator’s gaze. An attitude in which the human being neither disciplines nor territorializes, neither claims nor tames the environment, ­acquiesces rather to its magnitude, to its whims and its ­movements, as one does to those of one’s ­medium.

Oil on canvas,
  • 2008
122 x 122 cm

Estimate: 

$7,600

Dominique Gaucher was born in Saint-Hyacinthe. In 2001 he received an MFA from the Université du Québec à Montréal. For over twenty years Gaucher has worked as a backdrop and scenery set painter for opera, theatre, and local as well as big-budget American film productions. In parallel to this career he has practiced painting professionally since 1996.

In his works Gaucher essentially plays on the border separating reality from fiction by using and diverting the self-referential strategies inherited from modernist painting. For a long time used in strictly formalist terms, these strategies are now being employed by Gaucher to implement figurative representations that at first glance reveal misperceptions. Though these references—which combine and mix outside and inside, interior and exterior and, more specifically, the world of artistic creation and the natural environment—could recall certain images by Magritte, his pictorial world is more in resonance with hyperrealist scenes than surrealist visions.

He has participated in many exhibitions in Montreal in the Maisons de la Culture network, Galerie de Bellefeuille and Art-Mûr, the Centre National d’Exposition de Jonquière, and the Douglas Udell Gallery in Vancouver and Edmonton. In 2008, he was invited to take pat in the Québec Gold event in Reims. He will exhibit in Vancouver on the occasion of the 2010 Olympics. His paintings are part of many national and international collections.

Gaucher, Dominique

Dominique Gaucher, Because it's there 2, 2008.

Numéro de lot : 

22
Because it's there 2

Because it’s there est la seule réponse que donnent les alpinistes pour justifier leur quête inutile. Le point de fuite perdu dans les nuées (vanishing point, littéralement “point de ­disparition”) évoque la dissolution et une perte des repères. L’immensité ­incoercible ­s’accompagne bien de la solitude et la perte. Les perspectives relèvent du fragment et de la plongée, déstabilisent le regard du spectateur. Une posture où l’humain ne ­discipline ni ne territorialise, ne revendique ni ne domestique son environnement, se pliant plutôt à ses ­amplitudes, à ses caprices et à ses mouvements, comme à ceux de son médium.

Huile sur toile,
  • 2008
122 x 122 cm

Valeur estimée : 

7 600 $

Dominique Gaucher est né à Saint-Hyacinthe. Il a obtenu une maîtrise en arts visuels de l'Université du Québec à Montréal en 2001. Gaucher travaille depuis plus de vingt ans à la peinture de toiles de fonds et de tableaux pour l’opéra, le théâtre, le cinéma local et les grandes productions américaines. Parallèlement à cette carrière, il pratique aussi la peinture professionnellement depuis 1996.

En utilisant et en détournant des stratégies d’autoréférentialité propres à la peinture moderne, la production de Dominique Gaucher joue essentiellement sur la frontière qui sépare la réalité de la fiction. Utilisées pendant longtemps dans un rapport strictement formaliste, ces stratégies sont désormais employées par Gaucher afin de mettre en œuvre des représentations figuratives qui ouvrent de prime abord sur de fausses impressions. Ces références qui combinent et mélangent le dedans et le dehors, l'intérieur et l'extérieur et, plus particulièrement, le monde de la création artistique et le milieu naturel, pourraient nous rappeler certaines images du peintre Magritte, mais c'est davantage à des mises en scène hyperréalistes qu'à des visions surréalistes que son œuvre picturale fait écho.

Il a participé à de nombreuses expositions à Montréal dans les Maison de la Culture, à la Galerie de Bellefeuille et chez Art-Mûr, au Centre National d’Exposition de Jonquière, à la Douglas Udell Gallery à Vancouver ainsi qu’à Edmonton. En 2008, il a été invité à participer à l’exposition Québec Gold à Reims. Il exposera à Vancouver à l'occasion des Olympiques de 2010. Ses tableaux font partie de nombreuses collections nationales et internationales.