Gubash, Milutin

Milutin Gubash, Mountain, 2009.

Lot: 

28
Mountain

For awhile, I had been creating panoramic photographs that situate actions across 360 degree arcs of space; eventually, these ­images began spinning off-axis or falling apart again into segments, only to be reassembled in new or unexpected ways. This particular image was one of the last created with my father before he died. The location is called Heart Mountain–I originally picked the site because of its surprising name and coincidence to my father’s ­ailment, but the joke’s cruelty seemed to wear-off as we found the terrain potent for our ideas.

Photo dyptich, Lambda photo prints,
  • 2009
61 x 93 cm & 61 x 147 cm |
Edition of 3 + 2 AP

Estimate: 

$8,500

Born in Novi Sad (Serbia), Milutin Gubash has lived in Montreal since 2005. He holds an MFA in photography from Concordia University, Montreal, a BFA in photography and a BA in philosophy, both from the University of Calgary. His practice encompasses photography, video, and performance, and regularly features the participation of his family and friends, who portray versions of themselves in Gubash’s Do-It-Yourself sitcoms, soap operas, family photos, and improv-theatre pieces. Using simple means and often comical gestures, conventional domestic, social and professional roles are mixed up and upended. “At every turn Gubash purposely blurs the categories between who he is, who he thinks he is and who we think he is.” (Christopher Willard, C Magazine, no. 91) Following the artist as he “makes up” his life before us, we are invited to reconsider our own assumptions about our identities, histories and environments.

Milutin Gubash has shown in Quebec, Canada, the United States and Europe, including recent solo exhibitions at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (“LOTS,” 2007) and Optica (“Born Rich, Getting Poorer,” 2009), the Museum of Vojvodina in Novi Sad, Serbia (2008), Galerie 3015 in Paris and RLBQ in Marseille (“Which Way to the Bastille?,” 2008).

Gubash, Milutin

Milutin Gubash, Mountain, 2009.

Numéro de lot : 

28
Mountain

Pendant un certain temps, j’ai créé des ­photographies panoramiques montrant des actions s’inscrivant dans des arcs ­spatiaux de 360 degrés ; puis ces images se sont mises à tournoyer hors de leur axe ou à “se défaire” en différents segments, pour être ensuite ­réassemblées de façons nouvelles et ­inattendues. Cette image a été l’une des dernières que j’ai créées avec mon père avant sa mort. Le lieu s’appelle Heart Mountain ; je l’avais choisi au départ en raison de son nom inhabituel, qui coïncidait avec le mal dont souffrait mon père. Mais le caractère cruel de cette blague s’est estompé à mesure que l’endroit s’est révélé propice à l’essor de nos idées.

Diptyque photographique, épreuves Lambda,
  • 2009
61 x 93 cm & 61 x 147 cm |
Édition de 3 + 2 E.A.

Valeur estimée : 

8 500 $

Né à Novi Sad (Serbie), Milutin Gubash vit à Montréal depuis 2005. Il détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts (photographie) de l’Université Concordia à Montréal, un baccalauréat en photographie ainsi qu’en philosophie, tous deux de l’Université de Calgary. Sa pratique fait appel à la photographie, la vidéo et la performance, et inclut régulièrement la participation de sa famille et de ses amis qui improvisent des versions d’eux-mêmes dans les sitcoms, les soaps et les photos de famille bricolés par Gubash. Avec des moyens simples et des gestes souvent comiques, les rôles domestiques, sociaux et professionnels conventionnels s’y trouvent mêlés et chamboulés. « À chaque tournant, Gubash estompe délibérément les catégories entre ce qu’il est, ce qu’il pense être et ce que nous pensons qu’il est. » (Christopher Willard, C Magazine, no 91) Suivant l’artiste alors qu’il « invente » sa vie sous notre regard, nous sommes conviés à reconsidérer nos propres hypothèses sur nos identités, nos histoires et nos environnements.

Milutin Gubash a présenté son travail au Québec, au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, entre autres dans des expositions personnelles au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (LOTS, 2007) et à Optica (Born Rich, Getting Poorer, 2009), au Musée de Vojvodina à Novi Sad, Serbie (2008), Galerie 3015 à Paris et RLBQ à Marseille (Which Way to the Bastille?, 2008).