Hannah, Adad

Adad Hannah, 100 photographs taken at night, 2008.

Lot: 

10
100 photographs taken at night

These prints have been selected and sorted from the thousands and thousands of digital snapshots I have taken over the last nine years since I purchased my first digital camera. I am presenting these sets of 100 photographs in small editions of five archival print boxes. By removing certain photos out of the endless stream of photos taken and putting them ­together into boxed collections new relationships are forged between images which would otherwise be unrelated to one another.

The winning bidder has the right to purchase a larger version of any one of the images, details are inside the box.

100 10 x 15 cm, c-prints in an archival box,
  • 2008
12,7 x 17,8 x 5 cm |
Artist proof

Estimate: 

$500

Adad Hannah was born in New York City in 1971, and has lived and worked in Montreal since 2001. His pieces explore the intersection of photography, video, and performance, often through tableaux vivants. He has exhibited at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2008, 2009), Zendai MoMA (Shanghai, 2009), Galerie Thomas Shulte (Berlin, 2008), Ke Center for Contemporary Art (Shanghai, 2008), the Vancouver Art Gallery (2007), the National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa, 2006), Ikon Gallery (Birmingham, 2006), the 4th Seoul International Media Art Biennale (2006), Casa Encendida (Madrid, 2006) and Viper Basel (2004). In 2004 he won the Toronto Images Festival Installation/New Media Award, and the Bogdanka Poznanovic Award at Videomedeja 8. He has produced works at museums including the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the National Gallery of Canada, the Vancouver Art Gallery, the Rodin Gallery (Seoul), and the Prado Museum (Madrid).

Hannah has recently finished a body of videos and photographs produced in collaboration with the Prado Museum, a site-specific commission for the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, as well as a work produced for the Vancouver Art Gallery. Selected public collections: Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Ke Center for Centemporary Art, SSamzie Collection, Zacheta National Gallery of Art, Surrey Art Gallery, Monash University.

Hannah, Adad

Adad Hannah, 100 photographs taken at night, 2008.

Numéro de lot : 

10
100 photographs taken at night

Ces photos ont été sélectionnées et triées à partir des milliers de milliers de clichés que j’ai pris au cours des neuf années qui se sont écoulées depuis l’achat de ma première caméra numérique. Je présente ces ensembles de 100 photographies dans cinq boîtes d’archives produites en nombre limité. En ­retirant ­certaines images de cette interminable ­succession de photos et en les réunissant dans des collections contenues dans des boîtes, de nouvelles relations s’établissent entre des ­images qui, autrement, n’auraient rien à voir les unes avec les autres.

L’adjudicataire peut acheter un agrandissement de n’importe quelle de ces images ; de plus amples ­détails dans la boîte.

100 10 x 15 cm, Épreuves chromogènes dans une boîte archive,
  • 2008
12,7 x 17,8 x 5 cm |
Épreuve d'artiste

Valeur estimée : 

500 $

Adad Hannah est né à en 1971, et il vit et travaille à Montréal depuis 2001. Ses œuvres explorent l’intersection de la photographie, de la vidéo et de la performance, souvent sous forme de tableaux vivants. Son travail a fait l’objet d’expositions au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2008, 2009), au Zendai MoMA (Shanghai, 2009), à la Galerie Thomas Shulte (Berlin, 2008), Ke Center for Contemporary Art (Shanghai, 2008), la Vancouver Art Gallery (2007), le Musée national des beaux-arts du Canada (Ottawa, 2006), l’Ikon Gallery (Birmingham, 2006), la 4e Seoul International Media Art Biennale (2006), la Casa Encendida (Madrid, 2006) et Viper Basel (2004). En 2004, il se méritait le Toronto Images Festival Installation/New Media Award et le Bogdanka Poznanovic Award à Videomedeja 8. Il a réalisé des œuvres pour musées, entre autres au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, au Musée national des beaux-arts du Canada, à la Vancouver Art Gallery, la Rodin Gallery (Séoul) et le Musée Prado (Madrid).

Hannah a récemment terminé un corpus de vidéos et de photographies produit en collaboration avec le Musée Prado, une commission in situ pour le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, de même qu’une œuvre pour la Vancouver Art Gallery. Parmi les collections publiques incluant ses travaux : le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, le Ke Center for Centemporary Art, la Collection SSamzie, la Zacheta National Gallery of Art, la Surrey Art Gallery, Monash University, Melbourne.