Lefort, Jennifer

Jennifer Lefort, Breakthrough, 2007.

Lot: 

23
Breakthrough

This painting is part of my series of work that began in Berlin in 2007. While there, my work began to be influenced by the city. The ­graffiti, the layering of old and new and the overall ­energy of Berlin made its way into the work. In Breakthrough, these influences mixed with my visual vocabulary creating a sort of floating world of possibilities.

Oil on canvas,
  • 2007
134.6 x 183 cm

Estimate: 

$6,300

Jennifer Lefort holds a BFA from Concordia University in Montreal, and an MFA from York University in Toronto. Jennifer Lefort has a fresh take on abstraction, and a keen ability to force gesture, form and colour together in a graceful and original choreography. Her deft mark making leads the viewer around her compositions leaving them to question the image’s content. Gestures are large and immediate, mountains or gobs of paint take over most of the picture plane. Never random or vulnerable, these gestures are firmly selected and composed. They meet in strategic, interesting ways, forming strong and sometimes comical relationships, whereas her extraordinary colours seem to survey the everyday in an unusual and unimaginable way.

She is the recipient of the prestigious Plaskett Foundation Award, an advancement/travel grant she used to further her research in Berlin, Germany. Her paintings are found in numerous collections including the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the Canadian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Aldo Group, Giverny Capital, Hydro-Québec, and Abbott Laboratories.

Lefort, Jennifer

Jennifer Lefort, Breakthrough, 2007.

Numéro de lot : 

23
Breakthrough

Cette toile fait partie de la série à laquelle j’ai commencé à travailler à Berlin, en 2007. Durant ce séjour, la ville s’est peu à peu mise à influer sur mon travail. Les graffitis, la ­superposition du vieux et du neuf et l’énergie émanant de Berlin se sont insinués dans mon travail. Dans Breakthrough, ces influences combinées à mon vocabulaire visuel engendrent une sorte de monde de possibilités flottant.

Huile sur toile,
  • 2007
134,6 x 183 cm

Valeur estimée : 

6 300 $

Jennifer Lefort détient un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia à Montréal et une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université York à Toronto. L’artiste a un point de vue inusité sur l’abstraction, de même qu’un sens aigu du geste, de la forme et de la couleur qu’elle réunit dans des compositions gracieuses et originales. Ses marques habiles nous mènent au seuil de ses œuvres où nous devons identifier nous-mêmes le contenu de l’image. Ses gestes sont grands et immédiats; des montagnes ou des masses de peinture s’emparent du champ du tableau. Jamais fortuits ou vulnérables, ces gestes sont choisis et posés avec conviction. Ils se croisent de manière stratégique, intéressante, formant des relations fortes et parfois désopilantes, alors que les couleurs extraordinaires de sa palette rendent compte du quotidien de manière inhabituelle et inattendue.

Elle est lauréate du prestigieux prix de la Fondation Joseph Plaskett, bourse qui lui a permis d’approfondir sa démarche à Berlin, en Allemagne. Ses tableaux figurent, entre autres, dans les collections du ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada, de Giverny Capital, d’Hydro-Québec et des Laboratoires Abbott.