Murray, Wil

Wil Murray, If They Bottled Sex With The Curator I Would Buy It But Spill It On The Way Home, 2009.

Lot: 

33
If They Bottled Sex With The Curator I Would Buy It But Spill It On The Way Home

Initially an experiment in striping, ­interior spaces and volume, the working process ­became a month long Rococo orgasm of ornate and novel compositional tactics for Murray during which he found great inspiration from the expressions of desire in the Warner Bros. cartoon One Froggy Evening. Its title is taken from a hallucinatory winter ­evening the artist spent in The Lower East Side of New York City.­

Acrylic and polypropylene foam on board,
  • 2009
149.86 x 124.46 x 20.32 cm

Estimate: 

$6,500

Born in 1978 in Calgary, Wil Murray currently lives and works in Montreal. He was educated at the Alberta College of Art + Design. He received an honourable mention in the 2008 RBC Canadian Painting Competition, was included in the Magenta Foundation’s book Carte Blanche, Vol. 2: Painting, and curated the 2008 exhibition “Painting: Thick and Thin” at the Glenbow Museum in Calgary. Wil Murray makes dripping, tumescent, over-stimulated paintings that evoke his own queezy seduction by ghosts and announce his own arrival as a spectral seducer.

He describes being haunted by photographs of his paintings much as one would be by a portrait of a lover or a former self: “I am captivated, gazing as if I could see around or past the subject, into its hands or mouth, or into shadows. Or maybe just a little further up its leg, down its blouse. Into a privately known place that the portrait will not show. What was past my eyes. What turned me on and sent me to the photo in the first place.” Like viewing a landscape with a Claude glass, his work sends the viewer back and forth between their own fleshy eyes and mechanical surrogates. His work is included in collections across Canada and the United States.

Murray, Wil

Wil Murray, If They Bottled Sex With The Curator I Would Buy It But Spill It On The Way Home, 2009.

Numéro de lot : 

33
If They Bottled Sex With The Curator I Would Buy It But Spill It On The Way Home

Le processus de travail, qui se voulait au ­départ une expérimentation sur les rayures, l’espace intérieur et le volume, est devenu pour Murray un véritable orgasme rococo fait de tactiques de composition très ornées et originales. Ce processus s’est échelonné sur un mois, au cours duquel l’artiste a été très ­inspiré par les expressions du désir formulées dans le ­dessin animé de Warner Bros. intitulé One Froggy Evening. Son titre vient d'une soirée hivernale hallucinatoire que l'artiste a passé dans le Lower East Side à New York.

 

Acrylique et mousse polypropylène sur carton,
  • 2009
149,86 x 124,46 x 20,32 cm

Valeur estimée : 

6 500 $

Né en 1978 à Calgary, Wil Murray vit et travaille présentement à Montréal. Il a reçu sa formation au Alberta College of Art + Design. Il se méritait une mention honorable dans le cadre du Concours de peintures canadiennes de RBC en 2008, a été inclus dans l’ouvrage Carte Blanche, Vol. 2: Painting publié par la fondation Magenta et a été commissaire de l’exposition « Painting: Thick and Thin » au Glenbow Museum à Calgary, en 2008. Wil Murray réalise des peintures dégoulinantes, tumescentes et surexcitées qui évoquent sa propre séduction maladive par des fantômes et qui annoncent son émergence en tant que séducteur spectral.

Il se dit hanté par des photographies de ses tableaux comme on pourrait l’être par le portrait de quelqu’un qu’on aime ou de ce qu’on a autrefois été : « Je suis captivé et je regarde comme si je pouvais voir autour ou au-delà du sujet, dans ses mains ou sa bouche, dans son ombre. Ou peut-être remonter un peu le long de sa jambe, voir dans son corsage. Dans un endroit privé que le portrait ne montrera pas. Au-delà de mon regard. Vers ce qui m’allumé et m’a d’abord attiré vers la photo. » Comme un paysage vu à l’aide d’un miroir de Claude, son travail nous entraîne dans des allers et retours entre nos yeux charnels et des substituts mécaniques. Ses œuvres font parie de collections au Canada et aux États-Unis.