Tremblay, Eve K.

Eve K. Tremblay, Kopfsalat (suspended), 2004.

Lot: 

14
Kopfsalat (suspended)

Suspended-Kopfsalat (from the series ‘Tales Without Grounds’) was produced in hydroponic greenhouses at Mirabel. Lettuce growing in ­water is manipulated or observed by ­protagonists in fictional and sometimes ­absurd rituals that interrogate humankind’s ­predicament in these new technological ­landscapes.

Photograph,
  • 2004
101.6 x 127 cm

Estimate: 

$5,500

Born in 1972 in Val-David, Quebec, Eve K. Tremblay lives and works in Berlin, Montreal and New York City. In 2000 she received a BFA from Concordia University. In her photographic work, she explores the borderline between the real and the imaginary. Combining literary, scientific and psychoanalytical references and metaphors, she assembles her photographic series in order to explore the role of language and the gaze in the construction of reality.

Her work appeared in several magazines and publications. Her recent works have been presented, among others, at the Mois de la Photo à Montréal, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Kunstverein Wolfsburg, the Berlin-based Program centre, Pierogi Leipzig gallery, Lautom Contemporary Gallery, 0047 Centre in Oslo, Tromso Art Gallery and Point Éphémère in Paris. Two solo exhibitions at the Buia Gallery in New York caught the attention of critics from the New York Times and Artforum in 2006 and 2008. In 2009, she participated in two long-term group projects in New York, among which Exhibition was selected as an “editor’s pick” by Artcards in New York City and as the “best art space” by Time Out NY. She is a partner-artist in the creation of Waterpod, an art and ecology centre located on an industrial barge on New York City, and which operates using renewable energies. She had a solo exhibition at the Galerie Donald Browne and the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec in 2009.

Represented by Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal

Tremblay, Eve K.

Eve K. Tremblay, Kopfsalat (suspended), 2004.

Numéro de lot : 

14
Kopfsalat (suspended)

Suspended-Kopfsalat (série Tales ­Without Grounds) : réalisé dans des serres hydroponiques à Mirabel. Les laitues qui poussent dans l’eau sont manipulées ou ­observées par les ­protagonistes dans des ­rituels fictionels et parfois absurdes questionnant la position de l’être humain dans ces nouveaux paysages ­technologiques.

Photographie,
  • 2004
101,6 x 127 cm

Valeur estimée : 

5 500 $

Née en 1972 à Val-David, Québec, Eve K. Tremblay se partage entre Berlin, Montréal et New York. Elle détient un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l'Université Concordia (2000). Son univers photographique se situe à la frontière du réel et de l’imaginaire. Mêlant les références et les métaphores littéraires, scientifiques et psychanalytiques, l’artiste construit ses séries photographiques de manière à explorer le rôle du langage et du regard dans la construction de la réalité.

Son travail est paru dans plusieurs revues et publications. Ses récentes œuvres ont notamment été présentées au Mois de la Photo à Montréal et au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, à la Kunstverein Wolfsburg, au centre Program de Berlin, à la galerie Pierogi Leipzig, à la Lautom Contemporary Gallery, au centre 0047 de Oslo, à la Tromso Art Gallery et au Point Éphémère de Paris. Deux expositions personnelles à la Buia Gallery de New York ont été remarquées par les critiques du New York Times et de Artforum en 2006 et 2008. En 2009, elle a participé à deux projets collectifs de longue durée à New York, dont Exhibition, choisi comme « editor’s pick » dans les Artcards de New York et comme « best art space » par Time Out NY. Elle est artiste partenaire dans la réalisation de Waterpod, un centre d’art et d’écologie construit sur une barge industrielle à New York qui fonctionne à l’aide d’énergies renouvelables. Elle a exposé en solo à la Galerie Donald Browne et au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec en 2009.

Représentée par Galerie Donald Browne, Montréal