Wang, Chih-Chien

Chih-Chien Wang, Grass with Earth, 2005.

Lot: 

13
Grass with Earth

My art practice involves the presentation of found objects and the process of collecting or recreating them. This process builds up my understanding of the living space and the ­cultural diversity of the city. These concerns also resemble my understanding of people, reflect the place I live in, and reveal my doubt about the self. Grass with Earth was made in 2005 while Yushan, my partner, came to visit from Taiwan. We ate bagels for a few days, then, Yushan threw the dropped poppy seeds into a flowerpot. A few days later, the grass grew.

Photograph,
  • 2005
51 x 41 cm |
Edition 4/10

Estimate: 

$1,400

Born in Taiwan, Chih-Chien Wang has been living in Montreal since 2002. He obtained a BFA in theatre and cinema from the Chinese Culture University in Taipei in 1994, and worked for several television companies producing documentaries before moving to Canada. Wang obtained an MFA in studio arts at Concordia University in 2006. Dealing primarily with his everyday experience, his work frequently contains subtle traces that might refer to cultural or social concerns. He uses photography and video to examine the texture of existence and also to express his concerns about urban environment and cultural differences.

Wang has participated in residency programs at PRIM (Montreal, 2005), El Basilisco (Buenos Aires, Argentina, 2007) and Sagamie (Alma, 2008). Since 2004, Wang’s work has been seen in exhibitions held in Beijing, Boston, Lausanne, Miami, Milan, Montreal, New York City, Peterborough, Ping Yao and Toronto. Recent solo and group exhibitions include Optica, Artefact, Dare-Dare (Mois de la photo à Montréal 2007), Leonard & Bina Ellen Gallery (Montreal, 2008), Zenith Gallery (Beijing, 2008), the Quebec Triennial 2008 at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain (Montreal, 2008 and 2009), Gallery 44 (Toronto 2009) and Galerie Les Territoires (Montréal 2009)..

Represented by Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal
and Zenith Gallery, Beijing

Wang, Chih-Chien

Chih-Chien Wang, Grass with Earth, 2005.

Numéro de lot : 

13
Grass with Earth

Ma pratique artistique se fonde sur la présentation d’objets trouvés et sur le ­processus ­consistant à récolter ou ­recréer ces objets. Ce processus contribue à ­façonner ma ­compréhension de l’espace de vie et de la ­diversité culturelle de la ville. Mes ­préoccupations sont également à l’image de la ­compréhension que j’ai des gens, reflètent le lieu où je vis et révèlent mes doutes à propos du moi. Grass with Earth a été réalisée en 2005 ­lorsque Yushan, mon partenaire, est venu de Taiwan me rendre visite. Nous avons ­mangé des bagels plusieurs jours de suite, puis ­Yushan a mis les graines de pavot dans un pot à fleurs. Quelques jours plus tard, de l’herbe s’est mise à pousser.

Photographie,
  • 2005
51 x 41 cm |
Édition 4/10

Valeur estimée : 

1 400 $

Né à Taiwan, Chih-Chien Wang vit à Montréal depuis 2002. Il détient un baccalauréat en théâtre et cinéma (1994) de la Chinese Culture University à Taipei et il a travaillé pour plusieurs chaînes de télévision productrices de documentaires avant d’émigrer au Canada. Wang a terminé une maîtrise en arts plastiques à l’Université Concordia en 2006. Portant principalement sur son expérience du quotidien, ses travaux contiennent des traces subtiles pouvant renvoyer à des préoccupations culturelles ou sociales. Il utilise la photographie et la vidéo pour examiner la texture de l’existence et également pour exprimer son intérêt pour l’environnement urbain et la différence culturelle.

Wang a participé à des programmes de résidence à PRIM (Montréal, 2005), El Basilisco (Buenos Aires, Argentine, 2007) et Sagamie (Alma, 2008). Depuis 2004, l’œuvre de Wang a été présentée dans des expositions à Beijing, Boston, Lausanne, Miami, Milan, Montréal, New York, Peterborough, Ping Yao et Toronto. Parmi ses expositions personnelles et collectives récentes, mentionnons Optica, Artefact, Dare-Dare (dans le cadre du Mois de la photo à Montréal 2007), la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen (Montréal, 2008), Zenith Gallery (Beijing, 2008), la Triennale québécoise 2008 au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain (Montréal, 2008 et 2009), Gallery 44 (Toronto 2009) et la Galerie Les Territoires (Montréal 2009).

Représenté par Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal
et Zenith Gallery, Beijing