Quévillon, François

François Quévillon, Mouvant, 2020

Lot: 

29
Mouvant

Four years on the road are condensed in this lenticular work of which a larger version was presented at MUTEK and Art Mûr in the Spring. It is part of the Conduite algorithmique corpus, which examines certain issues of artificial intelligence through the theme of autonomous vehicles.

The sorting and generation of synthetic images that follow hundreds of hours of videos and data captured with Quévillon’s vehicle are shown through an unstable image at the threshold of abstraction. As viewers move in front of the work, the animation and stereoscopic effect of the lenticular technique enable us to perceive a nebulous, vibrant spectrum of various road scenes that dissolve into each other.

Lenticular print mounted on aluminum composite panel,
  • 2020
35 x 61 cm |
1/3

Estimate: 

3 000 $

François Quévillon, through his interdisciplinary practice, examines the interactions among environmental problems, social issues, and technological developments. His dispositifs explore the phenomena of the world and of perception by implementing processes sensitive to the variable conditions of the environment and human interference.

He works regularly in residencies and has presented his work at international exhibitions and events in the fields of contemporary art, film, and digital creation. Among them are Connecting the Dots (Mexico City), New Frontier at the Sundance Festival (Park City), Sous Observation at the Knockdown Center (New York), International Symposium on Electronic Art (Gwangju, Dubai, and Albuquerque), Open Media Art Fair—Digital Aura (Seoul), Intervals (Nijni Novgorod), Festival Internacional de Linguagem Eletrônica (São Paulo), IndieBo (Bogotá), LOOP Barcelona, Contemporary Istanbul, Festival de la Imagen (Manizales), Mirage Festival (Lyon), Show Off Paris, Mois Multi (Québec City), Espace [IM] Média (Sherbrooke), and NeurIPS, FIFA, RIDM, MUTEK, Elektra, and BIAN (Montréal). Different iterations of La Terre en suspens, his most recent solo exhibition, have been presented in Quebec since late 2021.

Quévillon, François

François Quévillon, Mouvant, 2020

Numéro de lot : 

29
Mouvant

Quatre années sur la route sont condensées dans cette œuvre lenticulaire, dont un grand format a été présenté à MUTEK et chez Art Mûr au printemps. Elle fait partie du corpus Conduite algorithmique, qui examine certains enjeux de l’intelligence artificielle à travers la thématique des véhicules autonomes.

Le tri et la génération d’images de synthèse qui suivent l’analyse des centaines d’heures de vidéos et de données saisies avec le véhicule de l’artiste se produisent à travers une image instable au seuil de l’abstraction. Lors de nos déplacements devant l’œuvre, l’animation et l’effet stéréoscopique du lenticulaire permettent de percevoir un spectre nébuleux et vibrant de scènes routières variées qui se dissolvent les unes dans les autres.

Impression lenticulaire montée sur un panneau composite aluminium,
  • 2020
35 x 61 cm |
1/3

Valeur estimée : 

3 000 $

François Quévillon, par sa pratique interdisciplinaire, examine les interactions de problématiques environnementales, d’enjeux de société et de développements technologiques. Ses dispositifs explorent les phénomènes du monde et de la perception par la mise en œuvre de processus sensibles aux conditions variables de l’environnement et à l’interférence humaine. 

Il travaille régulièrement dans le cadre de résidences et a présenté ses réalisations lors d’expositions et d’évènements internationaux dans les milieux de l’art actuel, du cinéma et de la création numérique. Parmi eux : Connecting the Dots (Mexico), New Frontier au festival de Sundance (Park City), Sous Observation au Knockdown Center (New York), International Symposium on Electronic Art (Gwangju, Dubaï et Albuquerque), Open Media Art Fair – Digital Aura (Séoul), Intervals (Nijni Novgorod), Festival Internacional de Linguagem Eletrônica (São Paulo), IndieBo (Bogotá), LOOP Barcelona, Contemporary Istanbul, Festival de la Imagen (Manizales), Mirage Festival (Lyon), Show Off Paris, Mois Multi (Québec), Espace [IM] Média (Sherbrooke), NeurIPS, FIFA, RIDM, MUTEK, Elektra et BIAN (Montréal). Différentes itérations de La Terre en suspens, sa plus récente exposition individuelle, sont présentées au Québec depuis la fin de 2021.